El Calafate (Southern Patagonia)

Located in the heart of Argentina’s Southern Patagonia region lies El Calafate. While an increasing interest has seen a wealth of hotels and facilities spring up throughout the area, being situated on the edge of what is the second largest body of ice on the planet, known as the Southern Patagonian Ice Field, makes Los Glaciares National Park the region’s biggest draw. Declared a Natural Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO in 1981, the park protects an area of some 47 plus glaciers traveling from the Southern Patagonian Ice Field and flowing into the Argentino and Viedma lakes, creating a magnificent backdrop of ice tongues and turquoise water lakes crowned by snow-capped mountains.

If time permits, a visit to El Chaltén, El Calafate’s sleepier neighbor, affords stunning views of the majestic granite towers of Mount Fitz Roy.

Bariloche (Lake District)
(San Carlos de Bariloche, Río Negro, Argentina)
Buenos Aires
(Buenos Aires, Autonomous City of Buenos Aires, Argentina)
El Calafate (Southern Patagonia)
(El Calafate, Santa Cruz Province, Argentina)
Iguassu Falls & Misiones Forest
(Iguazu Falls, Argentina)
(Mendoza, Mendoza Province, Argentina)
Península Valdés (Atlantic Patagonia)
(Peninsula Valdes, Puerto Madryn, Chubut Province, Argentina)
Salta & The Andean Northwest
(Salta, Salta Province, Argentina)
The Pampas
(San Antonio de Areco, Buenos Aires Province, Argentina)
Ushuaia (Southern Patagonia)
(Ushuaia, Tierra del Fuego Province, Argentina)

Essential Information

Reasons to Visit

  • Family Travel
  • Hiking/Trekking
  • Honeymoon & Romance
  • Nature & Wildlife

Recommended Stay

3-4 nights

When To Visit

Good May-Sep
Better Apr / Oct-Nov
Best Dec-Mar